What’s happened so far…

Well, this is my first entry, and it’s making me a little nervous… just kidding.

For those of you who doesn’t know me, welcome. You can read a little about me below.

For those of you who know me IRL, here’s what’s happened to me so far since coming to Hong Kong.

I’ve started my new job here since the beginning of September, and that has affected some of my hobbies. I’ve quit WoW (sorry, Steve), mainly due to the fact that I didn’t want to pay for the subscription and the thing on my desk some would call a computer doesn’t handle much of anything very well anymore, except for being a pain in the ass, maybe. So I’m using mainly my laptop now, which doesn’t do games very well.

So I’ve ended up reading and watching anime most of the time now. Until I signed up for my classes that is. My co-worker introduced me to a place in Hong Kong that teaches computer courses, and knowing that my CCNA is expired and I have no other certificate, I decided to sign up for some courses there. Well, honestly, the classes in the US are much better than those here, but I don’t have to drive 1/2 hour just to get to class. And the Hong Kong Government is paying me to take the courses. When I finish the computer courses next April, I’ll hopefully get $10,000 back from the government. That’s a whole $1250 US, enough for me to buy a ticket back to the US! 😛

I’ve been reading my Legend of Galactic Heroes novels again. And almost done with them. Now I’m searching for more things to read, but fortunately, my sister just brought back my Shakugan no Shana and Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu novels from the US. Thanks, Sis, you saved my life. 🙂

As for anime, I’m currently watching Death Note, Black Lagoon, and Kanon. Also of note is that I’m paying attention to Pumpkin Scissors, Sumomomo Momomo, Otome wa Boku ni Koishiteru, D.Grey Man, Asatte no Houkou, and other shows. I’m not closely watching them, meaning I’ll catch them when I can, but not every week.

I’m also watching Nodame Cantable (のだめカンタービレ), Tetsuban Musume Akane (鉄板少女アカネ), and of course, Battlestar Galactica. For backup, I have Kame’s Tatta Hitotsu no Koi (たったひとつの恋), Sailor Fuku to Kikanjuu (セーラー服と機関銃), and Lost. To be honest, I’m pretty sure I’ll drop Lost soon, since I lost most interest in that show last season when they introduced the other survivors.

In the video game department, I’m not planning on getting the PS3 and the Wii. I am, however, planning on getting myself a DSLite this X’mas. Not because I’m too cheap to do so (well, that is part of it, but damned if I’ll admit it), but I’ve found that old school RPGs interest me more…. Sign of getting old? Maybe. Someday I’ll write an entry about this. As mentioned above, I’ve stopped playing WoW, and PC games are getting more and more distant from me. Not a good sign.

One more thing (I’m such a Steve Jobs fanboy), I just bought my first anime figure. It has led to my fall to become in some people’s eyes a full otaku with this blog. I’ll write more about that later.

5 Responses to “What’s happened so far…”


  1. 1 ZiA November 6, 2006 at 10:57 am

    this is def not a computer… it’s only an online communicator, if such exists…
    tsk tsk.. you have bad grammar, yo!
    and admit it, you’re green-eyed over my DS lite! wahahahah!

  2. 2 Steve November 7, 2006 at 6:19 am

    Quitting WoW???!? You traitorous bastard. All you need to do is shell out $2000 US for a better computer and $150 for the subscription! YOU HAVE NO HONOR!

  3. 3 uhsieh November 7, 2006 at 10:27 am

    Zia: yeah, I know, I have no grammar skillz. Why won’t I be envious, I’ve been playing and caressing the darn thing for the last few days! 😛
    Steve: I know, but I’ve been sinking my money into far more worthless stuff, like food, cigarettes, credit card payment, etc. Honor? Of course I don’t have any! I’m only level 40+ and haven’t PVPed yet! 😛 Seriously, though, I’ve been finding myself leaning towards the more simple, old school games. One of these days I’ll go play Ultima VII.

  4. 4 Steve November 8, 2006 at 7:40 am

    I did that for a while and got really into Rome: Total War. It’s nice to get away from it for a while, but I enjoy playing with other actual people.

  5. 5 uhsieh November 9, 2006 at 9:35 am

    I do like playing online games with other people, too. It’s just that with WoW, it’s almost all solo grinding so far, and no fun at all. Finding a party in WoW is not a easy matter. I heard that the recent patch made finding a party much easier, but compared to FF11 parties in WoW are like pffft (no combos, no macros for party stuff, etc). But then, FF11 *requires* you to get into a party and waiting for one is hell…. *shrug*


Leave a Reply

uhsieh’s Twitter

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,893 hits

