Anime/Reading/TV/Video Game: how would you choose?

Yuki Reading

I found this today on AnimeNano, and could not help but agree with the author.

I mean, while I’m not the busiest or stressed person in the world, watching anime is like the fresh wind. Has anime affected my reading/TV/video game time? Definitely yes. I’ve almost stopped playing video games and watching TV during the week, almost only reading and watching anime after work.

It’s not that I don’t like video games or normal TV, but rather it take a bit more concentration and/or time managemenet. It’s no fun to play video games for only 20 minutes, and you have to put all your attention into the game you’re playing. For TV, each episode is 45 minutes long even if you skip all the commercials, and pausing and leaving the show half way is no fun at all.

Unlike the author of the linked post, reading during the week is more of a time-killer for me. I could read a couple of pages and put down the book during the week, most useful during meal time and when you only have 10 – 20 minutes to kill. Or if time allows, I read from after dinner until I go to bed.

Anime on the other hand, provides perhaps the best relaxation for me, especially for “lite” anime. To quote from the post linked above, “what does anime have that supersedes other media […] in terms of grabbing one’s attention and interest?” Well, I could just start the anime, turn off my brain, and laugh at the silly stuff. I guess that I have found anime (except for the few that like to screw with your head), with its clean lines, simplistic and clear expression, and sometimes silliness good for my mental health. That’s why anime has taken so much more time than my other hobbies.

So, in the end, how would I choose? I’d say until something more entertaining and/or engaging crops up, anime it is for me.

How about you? What’s your preferred entertainment? Comments and opinions appreciated. Thanks.

5 Responses to “Anime/Reading/TV/Video Game: how would you choose?”


  1. 1 Michael November 9, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    I’d choose books to improve one’s aptitude and intelligence, and for the rest, A WHOLE LOT OF ANIME. See, an anime episode’s the least time consuming, but in terms of palpable information that one can truly internalize, I think books are the best.

  2. 2 uhsieh November 9, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    Yes, it’s true. Books are indeed better for exercising your brain.

    I forgot to put in that when I have a large block of free time, reading actually becomes more engrossing than anime. With its 24 minute format, it is sometimes rather distracting during the OP/ED/preview time. It is especially true if you don’t like the OP/ED or have seen it a few dozen times already. There actually is a gap between episodes, as compared to books where the words flow smoothly.

  3. 3 Orlando December 19, 2006 at 5:04 am

    I don't watch ANIME.
    I want to know why people like it.. or what's cool with it.
    I might want to try watching it someday,
    what can you recommend?

  4. 4 uhsieh December 19, 2006 at 10:20 pm

    @Orlando: Well, for most people, the best place to start is probably Ghibli Studio/Miyazaki films, namely Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away. If you are a big fan of The Matrix, Ghost in the Shell is also very good to start with.

  5. 5 gaming podcast August 10, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the finest websites on the internet.
    I most certainly will recommend this site!


Leave a Reply

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,599 hits

