Moé vs Kawaii: which is better?

While browsing through the Hong Kong Yahoo auction site for more figures, a strange thought occurred to me. How does one differentiate between moé and kawaii? Is one better than the other, or are they seperate matters?

Imho, kawaii, which is basically “cute”, could be used to describe many things, from kittens (or Hello Kitty) to girls to even cars. Correct me if I’m wrong, but moé on the other hand, carries a slight sexual undertone. Oh, kawaii is oh so very last year.

Actually, to be more concise, I had the above thought when I saw this figure of Alvis Hamilton from Last Exile. I didn’t think that the figure is moé at all, but very kawaii. Not that I’m not going to buy it. XD Compared to the Shana figure (or this and this), which is very moé, it seems rather plain but undeniably has its own allure, its own sort of beauty.

So which do you prefer? Moé or kawaii?

4 Responses to “Moé vs Kawaii: which is better?”


  1. 2 uhsieh November 10, 2006 at 1:25 pm

    Ohh… I’m glad I just ordered it then. 🙂
    Kawaii ftw!!!

  2. 3 xkawaii June 1, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Hmmm.. Hard one !
    Though I prefer having something Kawaii rather then Moé, I think
    Moé is pretty underestimated.
    Moé is just something totally different and I really love both,xD

    Btw,, Check out my blog , ;D
    It’s all about Kawaii Items ^^
    http://www.xkawaii.wordpress.com
    Hope to see you soon!
    x; Tnyaa

  3. 4 xkawaii June 1, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    -> I’m adding you to my Blogroll.. Add me too,? 🙂


Leave a Reply

uhsieh’s Twitter

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,893 hits

