Jigoku Shoujo Live Action 01: More『一遍死んで見る?』


When Jigoku Shoujo (anime) came out, it got a generally mediocre review due to its lack of story and budget but somehow, a second season and a live action dorama are now airing. I haven’t seen any episodes of the anime this season since it’s one of those series that are on the back burner for me, but from what I have read on the Internet, it continues the same grain as the first season, meaning stand-alone episodes, with no continuing story. Rewinding a little further, when I heard that a Jigoku Shoujo live action dorama is coming out earlier this year, I was a little skeptical about it. Is the Japanese TV writers so lacking in material that they are going to adopt Jigoku Shoujo? I thought that Jigoku Shoujo is not a show that would reproduce well in live action setting, and its lack of a continuing stories its biggest pit fall for keeping viewers interested.


Strangely enough though, its lack of a continuing story was one of its draws for me when I watched the first season. While I also liked its not-very-horror theme and, to be honest, Emma Ai saying “ippen shinde miru”, the biggest reason why I kept watching. It was because I don’t have to care if I miss the next episode or not. An irony, that a show that I don’t care if I miss the next episode or not would keep me downloading and watching it every week, but when I turn on Jigoku Shoujo, I don’t have to think, “so what happened in last week’s episode” or “I wonder what’s going to happen next week?” I also don’t have to wait in front of the computer for the fansubber to release an episode, start the download, and hold my breath (unlike when I watched Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu).


Synopsis (1/2 hour episode):

The Jigoku Shoujo dorama seem to follow the same format, from what I have seem in the first episode and the preview of the second episode. The first episode tells of a story of a high school girl, Miyazaki Yuu, who lives in a poor single-parent family, but strives to overcome her handicap by getting an early acceptance (or is it a letter of recommendation? I’m not sure even with the Chinese subtitles) for university. However, behind the positive attitude she shows in front of her mother, she is being bullied by her classmate Rina. Basically, the bullying escalades until finally, Yuu contacts Emma Ai via Jigoku Tsuushin, a website that only appears at 12 midnight. Emma Ai appears to Yuu and gives her a doll that has a red ribbon on it, and tells her that but pulling the red ribbon, she would form a compact with Jigoku Shoujo, Yuu will get her wish after pulling the ribbon, but she would also fall into hell. Emma Ai then shows Yuu what burning in hell fire would be like, and vanishes.


The next day, Yuu continue to be bullied by Rina, even to the point of loosing her early acceptance because Rina framed her. When she was crying alone on the roof, she heard Rina saying tha Yuu was bullied and framed because Rina wants the early acceptance and Yuu beat her to it. Hearing the reason for her bullying, Yuu confronts Rina demanding an explanation, but was pushed away. In the process, her watch, which is a memento from her father and gift from her mother for her early acceptance, fell from her wrist. Rina then proceeded to crush the watch with her foot while saying the poor people should know their place. Heartbroken and with fury in her heart, she pulled the red string on the doll Emma Ai gave her. The servants of Emma Ai appeared to Rina, admonishes her actions against Yuu, and demanded to know if she has any shame. When she refused to admit her wrong doings, Emma Ai appears and sends Rina to hell, doing her famous “ippen shinde miru” and boat routine. Yuu is then shown to have her watch fixed and the mark on her chest, but she lives on with her grudge faded.


Impression:

Pretty regular Jigoku Shoujo stuff, I have the say. The acting of Emma Ai’s actress is only so so, and her facial expressions rather wooden. The three servants of Emma Ai are a little better, but still only B rate stuff. The CG effects during “the scare” is also pretty bad, bordering on cheesy. However, the pacing of the show is not bad at all, and the 30 minutes went by very quickly. Well, I got to hear Emma Ai do her “ippen shinde miru” and I’m happy about it. I’m also very very hooked onto the ED song, “Dream Catcher” by Olivia, and playing the song ripped from the ED constantly. Can’t wait ‘til the CD comes out

18 Responses to “Jigoku Shoujo Live Action 01: More『一遍死んで見る?』”


  1. 1 LostSeraph92 November 14, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    wow teher will be a movie on Jigoku Shoujo, I havent expected that

  2. 2 uhsieh November 15, 2006 at 12:30 am

    @LostSeraph92 It’s not so much a movie as a TV series. Yeah, I didn’t expect it either, but I just download the second episode and will be watching it tomorrow. 🙂

  3. 3 seraph December 9, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    i just decided to catch up on your blog cuz i hadn’t read it in a while. i actually watched this ep, but haven’t watched any new releases yet. and of course, i watch in english cuz i can’t read chinese for shit. ^^;

    anyway, it was a so-so series. i haven’t seen the anime, and i’m not sure if that’s good or bad. the acting was meh, but the theme’s interesting. i kinda wish there is a continuing storyline though. i’d probably be more interested.

    i like the hot guy as one of the tree sidekicks. haha. he’s a singer, apparantly. i watched his PV for “vampire”. it was amusing. ^^

    well, about the show itself, it actually reminded me of the drama for “princess princess d”. i only saw one episode of that also, but amazingly, this is actually better. i also saw that there’s a drama for “hana kimi”. makes me wonder who’s making all these anime to drama shows. they’re all so b grade, i’m not sure i want more. heh.

    luckily, hana yori dango 2 is coming out soon. yay! ^_^

  4. 4 uhsieh December 14, 2006 at 11:18 pm

    @seraph: Thanks for the comment. The show is not being subbed with much priority, since this is a pretty low budget and middle to low rated show. I’m lucky that there are Chinese subs out. 🙂

    I didn’t know that Ichimoku’s actor is a singer. O.o

    Well, JS and Pricess^2 D are aired in the same time slot, and both are low budget show….

    Oh… Hana Kimi… must anticipate! (Yes, it’s probably my favourite Shoujo manga.) Not too sure about Hana Yori Dango 2, though, but then I was never a fan of the manga.

  5. 5 QnetiC January 13, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    I wonder when will full version of ‘Dream Catcher’ release?

  6. 6 miceyZ June 10, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    SOOOOOOO CUTIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LIKE IT!! I WISH I HAVE THE ENMA AI DOLL, THAT SELL’S IN JAPAN!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

  7. 8 UN known June 19, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    WA EW EW EW!!! they look soooo UGLY! (the person in live action show thingy) especialy AI !!!! soooo ugly the lips and cheacks are so ew! so ugly!

  8. 9 U-Know July 1, 2007 at 8:02 am

    i luv them all more than anything in the world!!!

  9. 10 NOTO MAMIKO LOVER October 19, 2007 at 12:13 am

    Well for the live action series….it was bad.. compared to Jigoku Shoujo the Anime..sigh disappointed…

    Emma ai’s actress is not matching with the character, for a few reasons, FIRST! the eyes are not big enough… there goes the red eye sigh, SECOND! her height is 2 tall for Emma Ai, and LASTLY! The facial features arent creepy and cute enough to match Emma Ai
    if the creator of this live action is going to leave this points out they might as well get MAMIKO NOTO to act in it, since she is the Voice Actress for Emma Ai and she would be fitting for the character

    Wanyuudoo is NOT BALD and oldman-ish (example: the deep voice, the wise looking face etc etc) and the acting is ….. -.- cant say anymore

    Hone Onda is

  10. 11 NOTO MAMIKO LOVER October 19, 2007 at 12:17 am

    sry abt that i wasnt finish when i accdentally press enter =.=

    Hone Onda is JUST TOOOOOOO OLD!!!TOO FREAKING OLD and she dont look beautiful!! at all

    ichimaku ren … nth 2 say he fits the role perfectly

    and the whole show, the creepyness is not there, is just not there

    this is more like for jigoku shoujo fans although they will be dissapointed sigh~ i am also very sad U.U wuuu~ wuuu~

    btw they should get Snow to sing for the theme tho, it will add more to the originality

  11. 13 Reviewer May 13, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    The girl is more like Makino Tsukushi from HYD than Enma Ai. Someone with bigger eyes [preferrably Maki Horikita] would be better.

  12. 14 Noto Mamiko Fan March 28, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    NOTO MAMIKO LOVER’s Right. Nobody does better justice to Enma Ai’s character except Noto Mamiko. Her version of “ippen shinde miru” is wow – sweetly freaky. And The hair of this one doesnt look very similar – like this blows away the magic.. I’d stick to the anime 🙂

  13. 15 wiwik August 29, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    waOOOOOOOWW
    I like once with my me film [of] shoujo , I [is] heavy fans . if my me [of] real correct shoujo 2 there [is] sure waow very awful yes , can meet my me and ai [of] ren and is other2.
    waOOOOOOOWW
    I like once with my me film [of] shoujo , I [is] heavy fans . if my me [of] real correct shoujo 2 there [is] sure waow very awful yes , can meet my me and ai [of] ren and is other2.

  14. 16 wiwik August 29, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Your bitterness, I will dispel.

    I have received your message.
    Hell Girl

    Take it.
    You are offered a doll with a red string
    Take it?

    If you truly wish to eliminate your antagonist,
    you must untie that red string.

    If you remove the string, you shall officially
    enter into a contract with me.

    The one you seek revenge upon shall be taken immediately to Hell.

    However, if I deliver your revenge,
    I must have you make restitution to me.
    When one person is cursed, two graves are dug.
    When you die, your soul shall fall into the pit of Hell.
    Your spirit shall wander forever in pain and suffering,
    never having known paradise.
    Well, that’s after you die.
    The rest is for you to decide.

    Untie the red string?

    I hear and deliver this vengeance
    that words continuing to be told [in] ai situs.

  15. 17 wiwik August 29, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    asaki yume mi ji towani
    nageki mo sezu
    tsuki no hikari
    kokoro terashidasu
    moyuru hana no mai
    michishirube
    karamitsuku ayamachi no uta
    mune wo shimeru
    hatenu kawarite wo sashi
    nagasa wo
    omoi tsumeta koto no ha
    ai ni somete

    song which I create for the ai of / my me [of] jigoku shoujo.

  16. 18 wiwik August 29, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    word which have [in] saying my me [of] jigoku shoujo.

    I will release your hatred , candle .
    forever seeing a shallow dream
    without crying . the moon light
    shines on the heart . the loose dance of the flowers
    shows the way . the song of sins that entangle
    strangles the heart . point out the replacing hand
    the pulse of the lute of suppressed emotions
    color it in love

    steam hell ,
    swaying , swaying , the shadow of the dead
    a pitiful fate . a lose path . hating and the hated
    the futakomori of the cracked mirror
    we come from the darkness through all time and will
    release you hatred

    tell me what time is it . tell me it is a dream
    embrace me . a town like maze
    I seem to retall it . from the photograph collection you fipped thsougn . why am I alone . I am alone
    soon , soon , I realize it is a dream
    I run through the trash . I kick something
    I seatch for the quit from this dream . I have to go
    I hear your voice somewhere . it is moving . only within time . I won it see eternity . tell me what time it is
    tell me it is a dream . embrage mit
    move my heart that almost stopped . please
    you are next to me . probably seeing a different dream
    I don not need the sun . I just yearn for your smile
    it appeared ! , ah he left . who are you ?
    you are wondering are not you ?
    what can you understand ? . come with me
    what do you intend to do ? . what exactly are you ?

    I have heard your hatred

    I will revenge you…………..


Leave a Reply

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,599 hits

