Kanon 2006 06: 祐一くん、意地悪い…

After watching the last episode of Kanon 2006, I have to agree with Retsgip that Yuuichi really annoys me in this and the last episode.


Uguu~!!!

I grew up in a family where I only have a younger sister and several female cousins for the first ten years of my life and I tease my sister and cousins mercilessly. I still cannot but feel that Yuuichi’s actions in this episode are rather mean spirited. Sure, I played similar pranks on my sister and cousins similar to those on Makoto, but I thought the pr0n magazine one went a little too far. The part I hated the most, was when he pulled Ayu’s coat way from her a second time. Making a girl go watch a horror movie when she didn’t want to was bad enough, and pulling the coat away the first time is not that great either. There are things that are okay when teasing, and there are things that aren’t. Yuuichi crossed the line in many of the things he did this episode and I did not enjoy seeing them at all. Sure, Ayu’s uguus during that scene was very funny, but Yuuichi’s nonchalant comments really annoyed me.


Blushing ftw!

I still have my hopes for a more caring Yuuichi though. Not only because I know the story already, but from the preview for episode 7, it seems that Makoto’s story will become more in focus. Hopefully we will soon see a more caring Yuuichi, but I wonder how the transition will be.

Perhaps, and hopefully, the reason why so many people have problems with Yuuichi in this episode is because KyoAni planned it as a compare and contrast situation. First they show Yuuichi being self-centered and a sarcastic bastard. Then as the story progresses, we would see more of the caring side of Yuuichi. His caring side is already somewhat apparent in this episode, when he carried Makoto back to her room and when he spoke to Shiori, but it is very much overshadowed by his acts of inconsideration. At the same time, having him becoming more caring towards the girls doesn’t mean that he wasn’t mean to them.

Will we see a more caring and less sarcastic Yuuichi in the upcoming episodes? I sure hope so, or there is probably going to be dessertions (or at least a riot).

4 Responses to “Kanon 2006 06: 祐一くん、意地悪い…”


  1. 1 Retsgip November 16, 2006 at 2:42 am

    I will be anxiously awaiting the day he suddenly becomes a more caring individual. I wonder though, what kind of change in his sarcasm this will have. People might stop enjoying his character if he turns into the nice guy, and stops tossing off hand comments at his girls.

  2. 2 uhsieh November 16, 2006 at 10:15 am

    @Retsgip I don’t know… I don’t think Yuuichi is going to be suddenly a more caring person, since I think he’s already exhibiting some caring for the girls already. More of increment rather than transition, I guess. However, I don’t think he’s going to stop the sarcasm, but may be tone it down a little. Or at least I hope so. 🙂

  3. 3 Danny November 18, 2006 at 4:14 pm

    Well, things are looking bad for Makoto and I think Yuuichi will start caring for her more now. Yuuichi’s not a bad guy by nature anyway.

  4. 4 uhsieh November 18, 2006 at 9:37 pm

    Yeah, I think so. I’m surprised that they got to Makoto so quickly in this series, though, but I’m hoping that they would integrate all the girls’ stories together so it’s less of a girls’ check list.


Leave a Reply

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,599 hits

