What is a Harem Anime?

I have never been a fan of harem anime, and when I began to watch Otoboku, I thought that it would be my first harem anime, and boy, was I wrong. I read this article at Hontou ni Taihen desu, and I noticed that I have seen almost 1/2 the series that was listed on his chart. I could not help but wonder, just how do you define harem anime?

After reading the Wikipedia article, it would seem that any anime that has a single male lead with 3+ female around him could be considered harem. I think the majority of anime world uses the above definition, but to me, harem is Ichigo 100% and Shuffle, which I have tried to watch but failed. I don’t hate harem, since I actually quite a few shows that are said to be harem. “Pure” harem, on the other hand, is not my cup of tea. Here are my 2 criteria that separate “pure” harem and definition harem:

1. There is no romance/love-interest involved or is not main focus. To me, if the show is not about romance or if the love-interests are not the main focus, it’s really not harem, right? I mean, would you really consider Nadesico, School Rumble, Full Metal Panic, Shakugan no Shana, Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu, and Vandred a real harem? I think most people would categorize the above as something other than harem, right? Sure, Vandred is probably in the grey area for this, but to me, the mecha is cooler than the almost non-existing love-interest. I would place Ouran High School Host club into this category, but there is a lot of focus on the development of the relationship between the members of the host club. Yet, I could not make myself call Ouran a reverse harem.

2. The main character has someone in mind already and is not wishy-washy: Unlike the “classical” harem series, there are a lot of romance series where the main leads are obviously “together”. The watchers could either root for the main leads or hope that one of the support cast gets together with one of the main. Unfortunately for the support cast, the main leads usually end up happily together. Lamune is a good example, since Tomosaka Kenji and Konoe Nanami is an acknowledged couple. They may deny it, but everyone, including the “harem” girls thinks so. Others that I have watched that fall into this category include Ai Yori Aoshi (manga), Love Hina (manga), Hidori no Hibi (manga), To Heart, Onegai Sensei, Suzuka, and Hana Kimi (manga). Since I haven’t watched the anime version of Love Hina, I can’t say if the anime is harum or not, but Keitaro and Naru became a couple midway through the manga, and all the harem stuff came afterwards (as in all the girls going after Keitaro).

In the end, I guess my definition of harem anime is “multiple girls/guys going after an unclaimed guy/girl but no one is sure who’s going to win,” but that leave a rather large hole in my argument/logic. What about Kanon? By both literal and my definition, Kanon should be a harem anime. The KyoAni version of Kanon is very much a harem anime so far, and the old Toei version certainly would fit into the harem category. Yet, the story is going to develop to the point that calling Kanon a harem anime would be a little too limiting. The same thing could be said for Air, which even though it fits the literal definition of a harem anime, almost no one would call it so. Will Clannad fit into the harem category? Since I haven’t played the game, I can’t say for sure, but if it doesn’t, I think I’ll have to tag “except for anything made by VisualArts” to the end of my definition.

What this all mean is stereotyping doesn’t work, even something as simple as figuring out if an anime is harem or not. I’m sure there are people who think some of the series mentioned above are harem. On the other hand, some would claim that Love Hina (anime) and Tenchi as non-harem, even though a lot of people think of them as part of the definition. On that thought, maybe Otoboku is not a harem anime after all, and I have yet to watch my first true harem anime. ^^;;;

On that note, what does this all say about me? It would seem that I do in fact watch harem anime, but look at them with slight disgust. And according to Tsubaki, I would be the “Harem sucks. They all do. They all suck. It’s so brainless. But I’ll watch it anyway” type. Stereotyping rules. j/k

P.S. For reference, here are a list of anime that are also considered harem, but I didn’t watch/finish: Ranma 1/2, Girls Bravo, Tenchi, DearS, Magikano, Tsukihime, Urusei Yatsura, Fushigi Yuugi, etc.

9 Responses to “What is a Harem Anime?”


  1. 1 reslez November 17, 2006 at 11:58 am

    I think those are all good points about harems. There *is* a specific moment in most series where you suddenly notice the lead is surrounded with multiple highly attractive members of the opposite sex, and they’re all vying for his or her affection… there ought to be a word for that moment of realization. Harempiphany?

  2. 2 Danny November 18, 2006 at 4:19 pm

    I agree with you uhsieh.

    Here’s my definition of harem:

    Main male lead is surrounded by 3 or more girls who all love/fancy him.

    So, if the guy is surrounded by a class of girls and he likes them all, but none of them like him and will not like him in the future, then it’s not a harem. If there is no love then it definitely isn’t a harem. But, if the main lead has a specific girl in mind and will almost definitely end up with her, but still there are at least three girls who love him, then it IS a harem.

  3. 3 uhsieh November 18, 2006 at 9:46 pm

    @reslez Sorry for the late reply, but lol, I think harempiphany will work. 🙂

    @Danny I kinda agree with you, but to me, since I rather watch renai series than Harem, look at the renai aspect of the series more. So to me, in series like Lamune and Ai Yori Aoshi (manga), you know or want the main character to be together at the end, but it’s the process that you’re watching. It’s true that if there is a specific girl in mind but all the support cast love the main lead, it could still be a harem. But I guess that’s where I start wanting to call the series renai instead of harem. 🙂

  4. 4 missluna1 November 12, 2007 at 1:16 am

    I’m not a member of this site but i really like your pic.

  5. 5 kanon anime September 8, 2008 at 6:42 am

    ¡holi soy una de kanon anime y no quiero de sirle mi name
    jijiji gracias

  6. 6 kanon anime September 8, 2008 at 6:44 am

    jaaaaaaaaaaaaa……………jajajajajaja lelulelu 🙂

  7. 7 Charles Harvey Pennington (Chip) September 15, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    Thank you very much for the information aboutmale harems. I was asked to see if anything could be found on my computer. Thanks again Chip Pennington(charlesharveypennington@gmail.com)

  8. 8 web 2.0 sites July 17, 2017 at 9:13 am

    You could certainly see your expertise in the
    work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe.
    All the time follow your heart.


  1. 1 Why can't people understand that romance anime NOT = Harem!!! - MyMMOGames.net - Multiplayer Gaming and Media Community Trackback on August 13, 2009 at 12:56 am

Leave a Reply

uhsieh’s Twitter

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,771 hits

