Figure Review: Yamato’s Ohno Kanako

After buying my first figure, Kotobukiya’s Shana melon-pan ver., I opened myself to a whole new world of pain (for my wallet, that is). I just purchased my second and third figures, the third more of an “it’s only $99 HKD, so why not buy it” purchase. The on sale figure is Yamato’s Ohno Kanako cosplaying as Kasumi from Kujibiki Unbalance.

When I got the figures home, I had an idea of how I should shoot the two figures I just bought. I thought that a figure shoot using a single reflector light and mirrors, would work well on my new figures, and gave it a try on Miss Ohno. With a lamp color temperature of 2900K and wood panel surrounding, the pictures came out to be rather on the yellow/warmer side. However, this works ok with the Ohno figure, since the paint job isn’t the best in the world. A color corrected version of the above picture could be found here.

As you can see from the color corrected version, the figure’s painting is a little on the light side, making the skin color a bit white. Considering that Ohno is an otaku, though, the color is probably right. XD I didn’t like it too much though, since it makes the figure look half painted. The sculpting is not the best in the world either, since it lacks a lot of details that I would love to see in figures. Nothing’s really wrong with it, but not very right either.

The molding and painting is only so-so also, as could be seen on the photos.

The face is well… Let’s just say Ohno look rather dumb.

Overall, I can’t complain about the $99 price tag, but the figure actually retail at 4,200 yen. For that price, I would have thought the quality be better. Unfortunately, it’s not, but at least I have a Genshiken figure now to proclaim my otakuness. ^^;;;

P.S. After reading Super Rats’ guide on lighting figures, I realized that I need to work on lighting the figures better. Hopefully, the next photo shoot will turn out better.

Equipment used: Sony-Ericsson W850i, Canon EOS D300 w/ EFS 18-55 mm lense, Photoshop CS2

4 Responses to “Figure Review: Yamato’s Ohno Kanako”


  1. 1 super rats November 19, 2006 at 11:20 am

    You’ve stepped into a world of hurt by buying a figure. Yamato’s girl figures aren’t the best molded figures out there.

    These pictures turned out pretty well though.

  2. 2 Tsubaki November 19, 2006 at 8:23 pm

    You are in deep trouble. You can not escape the evil cluthes now.

  3. 3 uhsieh November 19, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    I know… I just came home with yet another figure, this time an Alter one. Hopefully, I’m not going to see more nice looking figures next time I visit a shopping arcade, but who am I kidding? ^^;;;

  4. 4 Nekomimichan June 10, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    I just wanted to say thanks for putting all these images and the different angles up. I’m cosplaying as Ohno for a convention soon and these really helped me get her costume right. Thanks ^^


Leave a Reply

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,599 hits

