Nodame Cantabile 05: 大学祭 (Daigakusai)

I’ve always been a fan of classical music, and when I heard about Nodame Cantabile, I really wanted to see it. I haven’t read the manga, and I had no idea what the story was going to be about, but it being about a pair of classical music students was enough for me. Also of note, I like cooking and detective series also, but Nodame Cantabile (and Jigoku Shoujo) is on my must watch for this season. There are two big reasons why I love this series: the comedy and the music.

Chiaki and Nodame makes a great tag-team in their comedy, not to mention that Ryuutaro and Masumi are great in their own way. The physical comedy and their half-cheesy characterization was really fun to watch, and the interesting story so far kept me watching this series every week, as soon as I could get the latest episode. Two things, however, made Episode 5 is far more pleasurable to me than the rest of the episodes so far: Rhapsody in Blue and Piano Concerto No.2.

Rhapsody in Blue by George Gershwin is the ED theme of Nodame Cantabile, and one of my favorite pieces of music, but the Melodica live version made the already very jazzy piece of music livelier. Or as Ryuutarou would put it, rock & roll style. While the original is a piano solo and jazz band piece and later orchestrated, the Melodica worked strangely well in this rendition. It also answered the question that had plagued me since the first episode: What’s with the Mongoose mascot? Well, Nodame was wearing the Mongoose costume for the Rhapsody in Blue performance, and it was really fun to watch Nodame prancing around the stage in such a cute costume.

What made this episode so special for me, though, is that they performed Piano Concerto No.2 in C minor, Op. 18 by Sergey Rachmaninov in this episode. I’ve always been a fan of Rachmaninov and Piano Concertos, and ever since watching Gankutsuou (a Count of Monte Cristo anime adaptation), Piano Concerto No.2 1 Moderato became my all time favorite. The moodiness, the depression in the beginning, the progression to hope, and the elation at the end allowed this piece to feel different for me every time I listen to it, and was what made it so endearing to me. But I digressed. Chiaki performed Piano Concerto No.2 with the A orchestra in this episode, and his “performance” for this piece was wonderful. Yes, I know that Tamaki Hiroshi didn’t actually play the piano part, but his movements and expressions were umai (not to mention the commentating). The one thing that I didn’t like was how he closes his eyes during his performance. I guess it’s not uncommon for artists to closes their eyes during performances, but it made Chiaki look either half-asleep or kinda stoned. XD

I hope Nodame Cantabile will continue to deliver great episodes as this one, and frankly, I can’t wait to hear and see more performances by Chiaki, Nodame, and the S orchestra.

 Screenshots to follow, and please tell me if you want a summary. 🙂

2 Responses to “Nodame Cantabile 05: 大学祭 (Daigakusai)”


  1. 1 Lang November 26, 2006 at 10:19 pm

    Hi could you please let me know , how or where you get your live action episodes?

    My email is

    langknow AT yahoo.ca

  2. 2 uhsieh November 26, 2006 at 11:20 pm

    @Lang: I got my live action dorama from the Internet, obviously, but you should look in Tokyotosho, that’s the only suggestion that I could give you, sorry.


Leave a Reply

uhsieh’s Twitter

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,735 hits

