Figure Review: Guitar Bunny Suzumiya Haruhi from Bubba


Oharuhi-sama Approved!

When I first saw this figure on the Internet a couple of months ago, I wished that I could get it. Unfortunately, it was a limited production garage kit, so a disheartened me decided to forget about it. A couple of weeks ago, I saw this figure on the shelf in a GK store, and I immediately pre-ordered one. The rest as they say, is history.

The figure IMHO is great, even though it’s a reproduction of the original. It’s 1/7 scale, and according to the storeowner, it’s hand crafted in Hong Kong. It is about 26 cm tall, the same height as the one available from e2046. At the same time, the packaging looks to be the same as the one on e2046. Since they are both Made in Hong Kong, there is a distinct posibility that it is in fact the the same figure, only this one is sold locally. They also claimed that their main client is in Japan. I don’t know if I should believe it or not, but the figure is certainly much higher quality than the China reproductions I’ve seen in other stores.

The figure is secured to the base via a metal rod on the bottom of Haruhi’s right foot, and therefore the figure can’t stand on its own. On the other hand, the metal rod looks like it’s very sturdy, though I didn’t dare test that out. (Oharuhi-sama would kill me)

It does have two nagging problems, though, both probably my mistake for not checking too closely during the purchase (I was way too excited :p ). There’s a chip on the right ribbon, although unless you look closely at the figure (and at the right angle) you can’t really see it. The second problem, which is far more obvious, are the large seams on the hair.

The guitar is very nice and detailed, and when I bought the figure, I made certain that the strings were aligned.

Well, no more talking, and more picture.

The required fanservice:

Special Thanks goes to False Reality for helping with the setup and taking most of the nicer pics.

Equipment used: Canon EOS D300 w/ EFS 18-55mm lense, Photoshop CS2 on Apple Dual G5

2 Responses to “Figure Review: Guitar Bunny Suzumiya Haruhi from Bubba”


  1. 1 Frank-Ocean81 January 12, 2008 at 8:12 am

    This one is superb,great painting…..i’d like to find one likr this one….but it’s quite imposssible at the moment…..

  2. 2 yu kanda July 31, 2010 at 11:18 am

    gostei mas deveria ter uma galeria de imagens e um dowload para baixa


Leave a Reply

uhsieh’s Twitter

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,735 hits

