Lena Park – 祈り〜You Raise Me Up

When I first heard this song watching Romeo x Juliet, I thought that it sounded familiar. As it turned out, it is an international hit by Josh Groban, as shown in the video above. A sample of Lena Park’s “Inori ~ You Raise Me Up” and her English version is available on the sidebar.

Needless to say, I really like the song, not only because I like Josh Groban’s version already. For those who don’t know, “You Raise Me Up” is a multi-platinum international hit that has been translated into 100+ languages and was sung in plenty of occasions (the 911 memorial and the 2005 NFL game were two famous ones). Lena Park’s version isn’t just another translated copy of “You Raise Me Up”, and she really did a good job making this version her own. Known as “Utada Hikari of Korea” in Japan, Lena Park’s singing voice is really great. The feelings that she put into the song was really apparent, and she managed to make her version of the song different.

Even if you aren’t familiar with Josh Groban’s version of this song, I think you will find this the song enchanting. And if you are a fan of “You Raise Me Up” already, you will like Lena Park’s version.

Rating: 5/5

歌詞 / Lyrics:

祈り〜You Raise Me Up

うるんだ瞳の奥に
変わらぬ君の姿
「どこまで世界は続くの」
途絶えた日々の言葉

凍える嵐の夜も
まだ見ぬ君へ続く
教えて 海渡る風
祈りは時を越える

霞んだ地平の向こうに
眠れる星の挿話
「明けない夜はないよ」と
あの日の罪が笑う

震える君を抱き寄せ
届かぬ虚空を仰ぐ
聴こえる 闇照らす鐘
君へと道は遠く

凍える嵐の夜も
まだ見ぬ君へ続く
教えて 海渡る風
祈りは時を越える

凍える嵐の夜も
まだ見ぬ君へ続く
教えて 海渡る風
祈りは時を越える

祈りは時を越える

You Raise Me Up (English Version)

When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary
When troubles come and my heart burdened be
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence
Until you come and sit awhile with me

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up, to more than I can be

There is no life – no life without its hunger;
Each restless heart beats so imperfectly;
But when you come and I am filled with wonder,
Sometimes, I think I glimpse eternity

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up, to more than I can be

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up, to more than I can be

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up, to more than I can be

You raise me up, to more than I can be

3 Responses to “Lena Park – 祈り〜You Raise Me Up”


  1. 1 Yuurin August 3, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    Adorable ^^
    I like both 2 Eng & Jap vers ^^
    Thanx u 4 sharin’ the lyrics so much ^__^

  2. 2 uhsieh August 6, 2007 at 12:12 am

    I’m glad that you like the songs so much, and the lyrics is the least that I could do. ^^

  3. 3 嵐 ブログ August 17, 2016 at 12:18 am

    どうも、ブログ記事を拝見いただきました。当方にとってすごく役立ちになりました。
    実はわたくし、SMAPのことがあって嵐の大野くんのことが気になりはじめていて、どうしたら良いのかとても落ち込んでおりました。
    そんなときこちらの投稿記事を読ませていだだき、とても明るい気持ちになりました。
    ウチもそろそろ人気商品を選んで使いはじめてみようと思います。
    当方のブログにも解説がありますのでぜひお越しください。


Leave a Reply

uhsieh’s Twitter

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,893 hits

