abingdon boys school – Nephilim

Third single of abingdon boys school, and this time, not anime related. 😛 “Nephilim” is the OP theme for the PS3 game「FolksSoul -失われた伝承-」(FolksSoul -Ushinawareta Densho-), which I’m totally not familiar with since I don’t have a PS3.

Compared to “Innocent Sorrow” or “Howling”, “Nephilim” is slower in BPM, but sound far more emotional. The singing in “Nephilim” is probably one of 西川貴教 (Nishikawa Takanori) best recently (and he wrote the lyrics for all their songs), and I found myself liking the song a lot even the first time listening to this song.

Compared to “Nephilim”, “LOST REASON” is a bit… lacking. It is sung in English, but unlike in “NERVOUS BREAKDOWN”, I found it much harder to understand the lyrics (well, it’s not that good in “NERVOUS BREAKDOWN” either, but somewhat easier to understand). Even without that problem, the melody is sounds a bit plain, although the guitar work still shines in this song. I think the biggest reason why I like abingdon boys school so much more than TMR has to do with the great composition and arrangement, not to mention the guitar work in the songs. That most probably is thanks to SUNAO and 柴崎 浩 (Shibasaki Hiroshi) who are responsible for the guitars in abs.

With their third single, abingdon boys school imho definitely established themselves not as another TMR derivative, but a band of their own strength. The singing of Nishikawa plus the guitar of SUNAO plus the electric guitar of Shibasaki (who composed “LOST REASON”) plus the keyboard by 岸 利至 (Kishi Toshiyuki) (who composed “Nephilim”) has shown that abs is more than just the sum of the parts.

Rating: 4/5

歌詞 / Lyrics:

Nephilim

放たれた翼が 願いを撒き散らして
この世の果て堕とした 祈りを空中(そら)へと

その瞳に映すのは 欠けた月の螺旋
なぞる指が辿り着く 場所を探してる
抱き合うたび 捩(よじ)れる肌と微熱を
貪(むさぼ)るように また胸を締め付ける

放たれた翼が 願いを撒き散らして
この世の果て堕とした 祈りを空中へと

夜の淵に咲く華を 耳へ押し当てて
響く街のざわめきに 吐息を重ねた
今も滲む あの日はぐれた記憶が
涸れた筈の 痛みを傷に変えた

仮初(かりそ)めの翼で 羽ばたく命の灯火(ひ)は
あらがう罪を指して 想いは君へと

血塗られた翼は 舞い上がり風になり
幾千に砕かれた 誓いを空中(そら)へと

仮初めの翼で 羽ばたく命の灯火は
あらがう罪を指して 想いは君へと

LOST REASON

I’ve been asking to myself,
What this crazy feeling means to me?
I need so much more than I can give
Trying not to think of you
Tell me where you have been hiding out
There must be something I can do

Suddenly, I realize the way to go from now on
I can see, now
Wanna do I wanna do
Take you all the way now

You are the reason I’m alive
I can’t take this any longer honey, please don’t say good-bye
Remember the night I held you tight
Before you go make me cry
Can’t you just change your mind?

I’ve been talking to myself,
What this dizzy feeling means to me?
You need so much more than you can give
Trying not to look for you
Tell me what you have been keeping up
There must be somewhere I can go

Finally, I realize the way to go from now on
I can feel, now
Wanna do I wanna do
Take you all the way now

I am the reason you’re alive
I can’t take this any longer honey,don’t leave me alone
Remember the night I held you tight
Before you go play on me
Speak with your true mind
Just one wish,before you deny yourself
Stay with me,till I get high enough

You are the reason I’m alive
Remember the night I held you tight
Before you go make me cry
Can’t you just change your mind?
Just one wish, before you deny yourself
Stay with me, till I get high enough

5 Responses to “abingdon boys school – Nephilim”


  1. 1 Zoe July 18, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Nephilm is quite a good song, but the PV confuses me a bit.
    People were complaining about them wearing ‘kilts’ and they called it ‘skirt’. anyway….. Lost Reason i still haven’t heard it yet, but Nervous Breakdown is so catchy that i can’t seem to get it out of my head. Thanks for the lyrics, even though i can only read a little of Japanese (i’m chinese)

  2. 2 uhsieh August 6, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Yes, I have to agree that the kilt part is a bit weird, but I guess they are trying go for the image of Abingdon School, but since it’s an English school, not Scottish… ^^;;;

    I also really like Nervous Breakdown, and I’m using it as my ringtone. I can’t really translate the lyrics, since I’m also Chinese and my Japanese skill is not that good.

  3. 3 kontakt 5 update crack September 15, 2014 at 12:14 am

    Hello mates, how is the whole thing, and what you would like to
    say on the topic of this article, in my view its truly amazing for me.

  4. 4 digest September 20, 2014 at 7:23 am

    I’ll right away snatch your rss as I can’t in finding your e-mail
    subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any?
    Kindly let me recognise so that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

  5. 5 cubase 7 crack fr September 30, 2014 at 4:11 am

    I got this web page from my friend who told me about this web
    site and now this time I am visiting this web site and reading very
    informative content at this place.


Leave a Reply

uhsieh’s Twitter

Archives

P.S.

Please don't ask me where you could download the anime/movie/dorama. Check Tokyo Toshokan first, please. Thanks.

Blog Stats

  • 276,893 hits

